Skip to main content

Almond Board of California 2024 Elections Begin April 29

Voting ends May 23


MODESTO, Calif. — Voting begins today, April 29, to select two independent grower positions and two independent handler positions on the Almond Board of California Board of Directors. Alternate seats for those spots are also on the ballot. Voting ends May 23. 

Candidates for the independent grower positions:

Grower Position #1, Member (1-year term):
Paul Ewing, Los Banos (incumbent)

Grower Position #1, Alternate:
Katie Staack, Hughson (incumbent)

Grower Position #3, Member (3-year term):
Joe Gardiner, Earlimart (incumbent

Grower Position #3, Alternate:
No declared candidate

Candidates for the independent handler positions:

Handler Position #2, Member (3-year term):
Bob Silveira, Williams (incumbent)

Handler Position #2, Alternate:
Dexter Long, Ballico (incumbent)
Justin Morehead, Coalinga (petitioner)

Handler Position #3, Member (1-year term): 
Darren Rigg, Le Grand (incumbent)

Handler Position #3, Alternate:
Chad DeRose, McFarland (incumbent)

Ballots and instructions have been mailed to all independent growers and handlers whose names are on file with ABC. Ballots must be received by ABC by May 23. Any independent grower or handler who does not receive a ballot can contact Toni Arellano at

“Every vote is important, and it’s equally important to have as much of the industry as possible represented in the voting,” said ABC President and CEO Clarice Turner. “The Board of Directors represents more than 7,600 growers and 100 handlers. They guide the work of the Almond Board to help the industry build a positive future in these complicated times.”

All details, documents, open positions, timelines and frequently asked questions can be found at

The ABC board is made up of five handler and five grower representatives. It sets policy and recommends budgets in major areas, including marketing, production research, advertising, public relations, nutrition research, statistical reporting, quality control and food safety.

Results will be announced June 1 and the new board will start its term Aug. 1.

For More Information: